My life right now sucks!!

Anything non Kiss related goes in here: other bands, fun, whatever...

Moderators: Partyman, speedy64, Demon, derFAN

Demon
Location: Central Florida - It is Hotter than Hell down here!!

My life right now sucks!!

Post by Demon »

Some of you know that I am a police officer who was hurt in the line of duty. I was denied my medical pension this past Monday. A local News TV station called me for an interview:

My interview

It is short and does not go into very much detail.

Officer Injured On The Job Fights For Pension

ORLANDO, Fla. -- An Orlando police and the Fraternal Order of Police are fighting the city on its decision to deny him pension benefits. David Mixon was with the Orlando Police Department for 16 years before he was injured on the job twice. In spite of that, he said, the city has denied him the lifetime benefits he claims he is entitled to.

Mixon was rear-ended in his patrol car twice on the job. His back was hurt so badly that he has been on light duty for two years and he filed to retire early. “So my recourse after seeking treatment was to file for medical pension," said Mixon.

His claim was denied. In an e-mail, Robert Klausner, Attorney for City of Orlando Pension Board, explained to Eyewitness News that the city charter and state "Prohibits disability benefits from being granted if the disability is based on a medical condition that pre-existed employment."

Mixon said he was never aware of such a condition.

“We felt my new injuries were not related to my old injury, so we made a case for that," said Mixon.

Mixon will still get what he has contributed to his pension in his 16 years as an officer. However, he won't get a lifetime of health insurance and additional lifetime pension benefits worth tens of thousands of dollars, all tax-free.

Sam Hoffman, the president of Orlando’s Fraternal Order of Police told Eyewitness News he believed the pension board made “an improper decision based on the evidence.”